Dutch cyclist Van der Poel won the Tour of Flanders for the third time


Twenty-nine-year-old Van der Poel made the decision with an overwhelming start about 45 km before the finish in the climb on the cobblestones on Koppenberg. The difficulty of the ascent was made even more difficult by the rain, and many riders therefore preferred to dismount on the hill.

Van der Poel won by 62 seconds ahead of Luca Mozzato of Italy. The home team’s Nils Politt reached the finish line with the same loss, who moved to the final third place after the disqualification of Australian Michael Matthews for a dangerous spurt.

“My season is already successful. To win the Tour of Flanders in a world champion jersey is a dream come true and it will take me a while to believe it,” said Van der Poel. “It was the hardest Tour of Flanders race I’ve ever experienced. I basically drove with my eyes closed for the last twenty kilometers in this weather,” he added.

“The cube hills were extremely challenging in the rain, but the Koppenberg was the most challenging. I was sliding terribly there, but I still had a nice lead at the top. In the end, I kept it even in the strong wind, but I reached the finish line with an empty tank,” he said.

Mozzato was also in euphoria after the second place. “Honestly, I would consider a good result to be in the top twenty, fifteen. I could have dreamed of ten, but to end up on the podium, that’s something crazy,” said the 26-year-old Italian.

With his third triumph, Van der Poel equaled the record of the Tour of Flanders, which he shares with Fabian Cancellara, Tom Boonen, Johan Meuseew, Eric Leman, Fiorenzo Magni and Achiel Busyss. In Belgium, he was also the first to place on the podium for the fifth time in a row.

Cycle race Around Flanders (WorldTour) – 270.8 km:
1. Van der Poel (Netherlands/Alpecin-Deceuninck) 6:05:17
2. Mozzato (It./Arkéa-B&B Hotels)
3. Politt (Belg./UAE Team Emirates)
4. Bjerg (Denmark/UAE Team Emirates)
5. Morgado (Portugal/UAE Team Emirates)
6. Sheffield (USA/Ineos Grenadiers) all -1:02
BITTNER (CZ/dsm-firmenich PostNL)
KELEMEN (CZ/Tudor Pro Cycling) both did not finish

The article is in Czech

Tags: Dutch cyclist Van der Poel won Tour Flanders time


PREV If the state of war had not been in force in Ukraine, the first round of presidential elections would have been held there today
NEXT Today you will see: Young wrestler in trouble | Tracker