Mr. Olympia 2022 – results and photos

The biggest event in the history of professional bodybuilding is up for grabs! Announcing the results of the fifty-eighth Mr. Olympia on Saturday, December 17 ended the main program of this year’s Olympia Fitness & Performance Weekend by Joe Weider, which featured 375 top professional competitors in eleven categories. For most categories, it can be said without any long research that their occupancy at Olympia Weekend was record-breaking, and when we write about this particular Olympia Weekend as the biggest event in the history of professional bodybuilding and fitness, we are not exaggerating at all. After all, the organizers themselves speak the same way. After two years, when it was held in Florida’s Orange County Convention Center, the Olympics were again hosted by Las Vegas, where the Super Bowl of professional bodybuilding somehow belongs the most. Everything here is bigger, better, shinier, and importantly for Olympia Weekend owner Jake Wood, it’s also surprisingly cheaper.

The most important points of the program took place in the Zappos Theater, which is part of the Planet Hollywood Las Vegas hotel resort and casino. Not only can it accommodate 7,000 seated spectators, but all the equipment from the stage, lights and audiovisual equipment is already in it. So there is no need to buy or rent any of it separately. And saving a few bucks with Olympia Weekend’s high turnout is pretty darn good. Jake Wood revealed a few days ago that every competitor who continued to race as a qualifier, won again and thus took the qualification away from someone else, saved him 1,500 to 2,000 dollars. The costs of the arrival of one athlete are therefore not small at all. To participate in Mr. Thirty-six fighters were nominated for Olympia 2022 during the fourteen-month qualification period, of which twenty-eight made it to the podium in Las Vegas. Even though for various reasons Nathan De Asha, Shaun Clarida, Regan Grimes, Angel Calderón Frias, Hassan Mostafa, Leandro Peres, Behrooz Tabani and Steve Kuclo did not use the promotion to the legendary bodybuilding competitions, the record for the number of participants in the Olympia was also broken in men’s bodybuilding open Weekend. So far, the most heavy-duty drivers on the Mr. Olympia introduced them in the 1991 season, when twenty-seven of them appeared before the judges for the competition, with the contribution of the Czechoslovak bodybuilding legend Pavol Jablonický. For the sake of completeness, let’s add that Shaun and Angel, as competitors qualified for both competitions, preferred the start at the 212 Olympia, where they eventually became the two best members of the starting field!

Past winners Mr. Olympia after years:
Mamdouh Elssbiay 2020, 2021
Brandon Curry 2019
Shawn Rhoden 2018
Phil Heath 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
Dexter Jackson 2008
Jay Cutler 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010
Ronnie Coleman 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Dorian Yates 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997
Lee Haney 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991
Samir Bannout 1983
Chris Dickerson 1982
Frank Zane 1977, 1978, 1979
Franco Columbus 1976, 1981
Arnold Schwarzenegger 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1980
Sergio Oliva 1967, 1968, 1969
Larry Scott 1965, 1966

Newcomers in the starting field Mr. Olympia 2022: This year he made his first start at Mr. Olympia scored Andrew Chinedu, Tonio Burton, Vladislav Sukhoruchko, Derek Lunsford, Vitor Hugo Boff, Patrick Johnson, Michal Križánek, Theo Leguerrier, Rafael Brandao, Joel Thomas, Mohammad Nsour, Blessing Awodibu, Andrea Muzi and Samson Dauda.

Looking for a favorite to win before the competition was not difficult at all. If to Mr. Olympia is going to start with the reigning champion, which is usually him. However, the course of Friday’s prejudging, which did not begin until late in the evening at the Zappos Theater, showed that the cards may be dealt differently this time. And not only for the winner of the last two years, Mamdouh Elssbiay, but also for some other members of last year’s top six. With the increased competition, which was taken care of by fourteen complete newcomers in the starting field, Mr. Olympia, it appeared that some of the more experienced fighters may have to swallow a bitter pill and accept that they will be worse off this year. Hadi Choopan, Derek Lunsford, Nick Walker, Brandon Curry, Samson Dauda and Mamdouh Elssbiay were given space in the important first and last semi-final calls by the judges. It didn’t get to William Bonac or Hunter Labrada. What was even more interesting was that for all the prejudging, the referees did not once move Elssbiay to the middle of the row. There, Derek and Hadi were the number one and two most time posers, and many believed that this meant the two of them were surprisingly in the running for the win! However, some professional bodybuilding commentators (including King Kamali and John Hansen) have expressed the opinion that Elssbiay is so good that the judges did not need to put him in the middle of the line at all and calmly left him to the side to walk away from there to win. But that didn’t seem very likely. And it wasn’t just the fact that referees would act in this way contrary to customs. Although “Ramy” did not compete in an ill-prepared manner, several defects could be seen in his figure, which, unfortunately for him, were already so obvious that it seemed that it was simply not compatible with the position of the best bodybuilder in the world.

Starts of Czech and Slovak professionals at Mr. Olympia
year name state location
2022 Michal Krizanek Slovakia ?
2020 Lukáš Osladil Czech Republic 11.
2019 Lukáš Osladil Czech Republic 8.
2018 Lukáš Osladil Czech Republic 12.
2017 Lukáš Osladil Czech Republic 12.
2016 Lukáš Osladil Czech Republic 16.
2004 Pavol Jablonicky Czech Republic 11.
2002 Jaroslav Horváth Slovakia 23.
2001 Pavol Jablonicky Czech Republic 19.
1999 Pavol Jablonicky Czech Republic 14.
1995 Pavol Jablonicky Czech Republic 16.
1993 Pavel Grolmus Slovakia 18.
1991 Pavol Jablonicky Czechoslovakia 16.
1989 Pavol Jablonicky Czechoslovakia 16.
1987 Joseph Grolmus Germany 15.
1986 Joseph Grolmus Germany 10.

The results of Mr. Olympia 2022

  • 1. Choopan snakes

  • 2. Derek Lunsford

  • 3. Nick Walker

  • 4. Brandon Curry

  • 5. Mamdouh Elssbiay

Men’s bodybuilding stars open at Mr. Olympia 2022


Photo: / Jeff Binns

Did you like the article?
Share it on Facebook. Thank you

Related articles:

Before posting, don’t overlook the discussion rules. Thank you for following them.

ico-diskuse.gifView all posts


PREV Fuels will heal. Because of the open economy after covid
NEXT Tlibn justifies the execution of Brit Harry with a book. Stupid, you uploaded them! the prince caught it